Lost Girl verdict: Yeah, kinda awesome

Confession: I often watch shows that I don’t have a vested interest in. Current case in point: Once Upon a Time. Why do I tune in? I have nothing else to watch Sundays at 8 (which is probably one of the most important pieces of criteria one of these shows must have) and also the blink or you’ll miss ‘em Lost references. But the show has proven to be quite inventive in some areas and employs favorites like Robert Carlyle, David Anders, Emma Caulfield, among others. What else? House of Lies (which I do take the initiative with and seek out on demand, but its short running time also makes it an excellent time killer). Other past examples: Prison Break, Desperate Housewives; shows that I watched for seasons at a time and then dropped without a second thought when something else came along. If I really stopped and thought about it, I assume that all shows start out the same and I am either on board immediately, slowly get into the groove after a few episodes, or remain in this purgatory-like state where it never really grabs me. (Or in the case of Syfy’s Being Human, it alternated from quasi-interest—all of first season—to my rapt attention, that is, whenever Kyle Schmid’s character Henry is involved. So I suppose I am always looking for that character investment, or a really good gimmick). Rarely do sentiments like these turn into real investments. But then, sometimes the effort is worth the limbo time.

Enter Lost Girl, a show that landed on my watch list solely because television critics kept telling me it was the bee’s knees. And eventually, somewhere along the line, I finally realized that they were speaking truth. But it was a longer road for me than usual. I spent the first half of the season gritting my teeth and forcing myself to pay attention (as others raved and raved…).  Then, one magical (fae-esque?) night, I was so distracted I only really paid attention towards the end and found myself disappointed: I wanted to know what I had missed. Progress! So I re-watched on demand and have slowly evolved into this kind of thinking: “Monday—ohhh Lost Girl!” ever since. Another sign of my new attachment: I now watch Smash, which conflicts with Lost Girl at 10, but unlike Lost Girl, Smash is not re-aired again on the same night. So although I have a conflict, I can still watch Lost Girl at midnight, which is dedication. At this point Lost Girl would be my choice over Smash, if it came to that. (Also unlike Lost Girl, I was immediately on board with Smash…but ever since the pilot, as everyone knows, that show has suffered some major, MAJOR problems).

These two are ridiculously photogenic...

If I had to diagnose my initial ambivalence, I would say it was due my reluctance to adapt to the world that was being presented: it was different, yet familiar, to other fantasy worlds. And the mythology that is thrown around in the first episode (Dark vs. Light fae, The Ash, and The Morrigan) was not that compelling for me. And I might as well throw Lauren, the human doctor and rival love interest for Bo, into the mix. I understand (and completely agree) that Bo’s uncompromising, indiscriminate Jack Harkness-like sexual preference is an asset to the show. Lauren just doesn’t work for me as a character and it is no coincidence that my interest significantly increased when Bo got burned by Lauren’s allegiance to The Ash. Give me another fae/non-evil succubus girl for Bo and I am in. (Except I will probably be in deep mourning over anything negative happening between Bo and Dyson). But increasingly I realized how promising the fae world was shaping up to be: each week offered up a uniquely fae problem that felt fresh and newly tread. Even a few weeks back when it felt like the show was overly telegraphing the fact that Kenzi’s love interest, and case of the week, would bite it by episode’s end (even though their intervention saved him! and repaired his long-estranged relationship with his brother!) I didn’t mind too much; if anything, it helped me to brace for the sadness.

Badass besties

Lost Girl is the exception to the rule because it beat the odds stacked up against it. I didn’t much care for it or pay attention to it and I didn’t abandon it when a show I (unfortunately) thought was more up my alley premiered. I am also quietly fangirling over Bo/Dyson and how their relationship has progressed. Where’s the love for Kenzi though? Half of the time I am swooning over Bo and Dyson I am simultaneously depressed over her relegation to third wheel status on an episodic basis. I also love Bo and Kenzi’s relationship: if a thief/con artist human and a succubus can make it as best friends then who can’t?

Tags: ,

About Staciellyn Chapman

Grad student at the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University. This blog is an attempt to condense the craziness that is my TV viewing habits (with the occasional aside into film, music, and general life).

Leave a Reply

