Quick Spotlight On…DWTS

My interest in reality television is limited to Food Network and Travel Channel or the first season of a newly buzzed about show (I watched The Voice last year). So I have never really had occasion to watch Dancing with the Stars (except the first season of course). But this year, I have a vested interest in two people:

Being invested in Gavin DeGraw is already leading to stress. He was in the bottom two last night, barely missing elimination. This surprised me, given that Twitter exploded with surprise and I know he has fans out there and he hasn’t done horribly so far. Anyway, I hope he lives on to dance a few more weeks at least because I want the world to see what a great guy he is (and give him time to get a little more comfortable). I have seen Gavin in concert a number of times and he is very personable (like, riding up on a motorcycle as I waited to get into the park where he was playing) and very comfortable on stage. On DWTS his humor is still intact but he is missing the usual sexual magnetism he exudes on stage (a staple is his rendition of “Sexual Healing”). But he is a talented guy and I am glad he gets to showcase this to a large audience (and tour at the same time?! Insanity).

I am also rooting for Katherine Jenkins (who is hitting it outta the park) not only because she seems like a sweetheart but yes, because I know her from Doctor Who’s “A Christmas Carol” episode.

Tags: , ,

About Staciellyn Chapman

Grad student at the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University. This blog is an attempt to condense the craziness that is my TV viewing habits (with the occasional aside into film, music, and general life).

Leave a Reply

