Thanksgiving with “Friends”

New Girl’s “Thanksgiving” episode got me thinking about some old favorites and where they have succeeded when it came to a themed Thanksgiving episode.

The first show that came to mind, and indeed the show that should be praised above all others for its Thanksgiving efforts, was Friends. Once I opened those floodgates, nearly 10 seasons worth of memorable Thanksgiving episodes came rushing forth from the sitcom center of my brain. Except for season two, where I assume the show was more concerned about Ross/Rachel drama (I mean the holiday happened immediately following the fallout of “The One Where Ross Finds Out”), a Thanksgiving-centric episode was produced.

"The One with the Rumor"

Multiple things come to mind when I think about television on Thanksgiving, but these days networks tend to opt out of showing new episodes on Thanksgiving Thursdays. However, sharing some of my Thanksgivings with “Friends” was one of the highlights of the day; “The One with the Rumor” is the first episode that comes to mind specifically because I have the distinct memory of being happy and content after a nice Thanksgiving dinner and settling in to watch Brad Pitt guest on the show. Immediately following that I think about first season’s “The One Where Underdog Gets Away” and fifth season’s “The One with All the Thanksgivings.”

"The One Where Underdog Gets Away": the gang accidentally gets locked out

 

"The One with All the Thanksgivings"

I mean, we get to flashback to the Geller’s house for Thanksgiving where Monica is fat. then newly skinny and Chandler not only rocks A Flock of Seagulls hairstyle but also loses a toe. Never was it a more fitting episode for present Chandler to tell Monica “I love you” for the first time, especially since we know much Chandler HATES Thanksgiving. Honorable mentions: “The One with the Football” where the Geller’s trademark competitive streak asserts itself, “The One with Chandler in a Box” that explains itself, sixth season’s “The One Where Ross Got High,” where Rachel attempts a trifle that has the suspicious ingredients of beef and peas (that may or may not taste like feet) and what I think about whenever I make a shepherd’s pie. I don’t wanna hate on seventh, ninth and tenth seasons, but Chandler’s dislike of dogs, Rachel’s sister visiting and everyone being late do not have as much of a stranglehold on my memories.

"The One Where Ross Got High"

Tags: ,

About Staciellyn Chapman

Grad student at the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University. This blog is an attempt to condense the craziness that is my TV viewing habits (with the occasional aside into film, music, and general life).

Leave a Reply

