Spotlight On…John Hawkes

John Hawkes in Winter's Bone

Below I indicated my undying love for Ewan McGregor; he mainly serves as my constant. The entertainment world is populated with numerous actors and actresses who never fail to amaze me….like John Hawkes. He was primarily regarded as a successful indie/character actor before his Academy Award nomination for Winter’s Bone last year. John Hawkes seems wary of his new prominence and recognition. However, I have to admit I’ve known him for years but it wasn’t for some darling indie:

I Still Know What You Did Last Summer

In 1999, my friends and I thought this movie was the height of all entertainment. I especially enjoyed this scene where John Hawkes and Freddie Prinze, Jr. rock out to White Snake’s “Here I Go Again.” It has left me with a legacy of forever associating John, White Snake and that song with this movie. This was, after all, my first exposure to the song. I also know the majority of the dialogue not only in this scene but in this entire movie…and I wouldn’t trade it for the world! I also later connected John to this:

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

My dad’s obsession with The Perfect Storm ensured I would remember him from that; he never fails to turn up and do a memorable guest role either, I especially loved his turn on Lost as Lennon. I was excited to one, buy the first season of Deadwood at a good price from Costco, and two, to realize he was a main cast member. Now I just need to find time to watch it. While he was steady working for years in the business, Winter’s Bone really put him on the map and rightly so. His performance is what sticks with me, and the implications of what his last words mean, haunting. Martha Marcy May Marlene capitalized on his enigmatic personality and he aptly demonstrated how a group could worship him as their leader.  Looking at his growing docket for 2012, I expect to see his star on a continued rise, whether he likes it or not.

Tags: , , , ,

About Staciellyn Chapman

Grad student at the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution at George Mason University. This blog is an attempt to condense the craziness that is my TV viewing habits (with the occasional aside into film, music, and general life).

Leave a Reply

